Sunday, July 19, 2009

Hiromi Uehara - Manhattan Beach Studios, NY, Febuary 9, 2008 [FM][FLAC]

Pianist and composer Hiromi Uehara was born in Shizuoka, Japan, in 1979. She began studying classical piano at age 5 at the Yamaha School of Music. Her teacher was a jazz fan, and she shared her love of the music with Hiromi, encouraging improvisation even on the classical pieces of Mozart, Hayden, and exercises from the Hannon Book.Hiromi achieved a high level of playing at an early age, and was performing publicly before reaching her teenage years. At 14, she got the opportunity to take her talents abroad, traveling to Czechoslovakia for a performance with the Czech Philharmonic. In addition to her continued classical studies and performances, Hiromi became increasingly interested in jazz. She even had the opportunity to sit in with Chick Corea during one of his concerts in Tokyo. After high school, Hiromi worked performing jingles for television commercials. The work piqued her interest in orchestration and arranging, and she felt the need for more study. The Berklee College of Music in Boston provided the perfect setting for her budding interest in arranging, as well as her lifelong love of jazz. She arrived in 1999 and immediately became immersed in the jazz community there, performing in clubs around Boston and meeting artists such as Ahmad Jamal, who immediately took an interest in the young player.
Before she graduated, Hiromi signed with the Telarc record label, which released her first CD, Another Mind, in 2003. Co-produced by Ahmad Jamal, the record featured Hiromi's multi-faceted compositions, as well as her dazzling pianistic abilities. On each of her successive releases — Brain (2004), Spiral (2005), and Time Control (2007) — Hiromi's talents as pianist and composer have continued to evolve, impressing fans and critics around the world.

Hiromi Uehara & Marian McPartland
Manhattan Beach Studios, NY,

Broadcast date: 2008-02-09
Performance date: 2004-02-17

Lineage: fm (Onkyo TX8511)>SoundBlaster (Live! 24 bit External)>wav(CD Wave Editor)>flac


* Conversation 2:39
* "The Tom and Jerry Show" (H. Uehara) 2:22
* Conversation 1:06
* "Blue and Green" (Evans, Davis) 4:36
* Conversation 2:08
* "Softly as in a Morning Sunrise" (Hammerstein, Romberg) 3:50
* Conversation 0:34
* "With You in Mind" (McPartland) 3:56
* Conversation 1:39
* "Lullaby of Birdland" (G. Gershwin) 5:33
* Conversation 1:01 & 0:12
* "I Got Rhythm" (G. Gershwin, I. Gershwin) 3:12
* Conversation 2:01
* "There Will Never Be Another You" (Gordon, Warren) 3:28
* Conversation 0:26
* "Caravan" (Tizol, Gillespie) 3:53
* Conversation 2:07
* "Portrait of Hiromi" (McPartland) 1:44
* Conversation 4:21
* "Straight No Chaser" (Monk) 4:21

Total Time: 55:18

Format: FLAC

Enjoy !!!

See comments for the links

1 comment:

Dr. Fusion said...