Tuesday, June 23, 2009

VIDEO: Allan Holdsworth -" IOU " - Live at Frankfurt Jazz Festival, Frankfurt, Germany, February, 1986 [DVD]

This concert was broadcast on German television. Allan is seen playing his Ibanez AH-10 guitar along with the Synth-Axe guitar synthesizer controller.

One of my all time favorite DVDs. Holdworth and Husband together can't be topped (OK, maybe Cobham with McLaughlin, but that's it!). I remember seeing IOU in the early 80's in NYC and remember hearing a bunch of guitar wankers complaining that Husband "over played." What a bunch of poofters ;) I always thought of him as Tony Williams on steroids.

Thanks to MAGMA2


Allan Holdsworth: Guitar, Synth-Axe
Gary Husband: Drums
Jimmy Johnson: Bass
Kei Akagi: Keyboards


1. Three Sheets To The Wind (from Road Game)
2. Letters of Marque (from IOU)
3. Tokyo Dream (from Road Games)
4. Looking Glass (from Atavachron)
5. Atavachron
6. Non-Brewed Condiment (from Atavachron)
7. White Line (from IOU)
8. Shallow Sea (from IOU)
9. Devil Take The Hindmost (from Metal Fatigue)

Total Running Time: 70 minutes


Video Attributes:

Video compression mode: MPEG-2
TV system: 525/60 (NTSC)
Aspect Ratio: 4:3
Display Mode: Only Letterbox
Source picture resolution: 704x480 (525/60)
Frame Rate: 30.00
Source picture letterboxed: Not letterboxed
Bitrate: 7.98Mbps

Audio Attributes:

Audio Coding mode: Dolby Digital
Sampling Rate: 48kHz
Audio application mode: Not specified
Number of Audio channels: 2
Bitrate: 256 Kbps
Number of Audio streams: 1

Format: DVD [NTSC]

Enjoy !!!

See comments for the links


Dr. Fusion said...

Download Text file + DVD cover:



Anonymous said...

Beste Fred,

Super post, vind het echt een historisch waardevolle DVD; toen al zo ver zijn tijd vooruit.

Ook interessante links over bewustzijn heb je toegevoegd.
Opnieuw veel dank!


Dr. Fusion said...

Graag gedaan Jeroen! En bedankt voor je vriendelijke woorden.


FrankStareye said...

Thank you for this great post.
A truly amazing concert!