Friday, June 26, 2009

Liquid Tension Experiment - Live at B.B. King's Blues Club & Grill in NYC, NY, 06-23-2008 [2CD][FLAC]

Liquid Tension Experiment is an instrumental progressive rock/metal project, founded by drummer Mike Portnoy, in 1997. The band has released two albums through Magna Carta Records. A third album, featuring three members of the band (Liquid Trio Experiment) was released in 2007. Mike Portnoy invited Jordan Rudess (keyboard) and progressive rock icon Tony Levin (bass, Chapman Stick) of King Crimson and Peter Gabriel's band to join him. In his instructional video "Liquid Drum Theater", Portnoy said that his first choice for the guitar was the late Dimebag Darrell, but he was unable to join because of conflicting schedules. Two other primary choices, Steve Morse (Dixie Dregs, Kansas, Deep Purple) and Jim Matheos (Fates Warning) were also unavailable. Portnoy then turned to fellow Dream Theater member John Petrucci to fill the position (despite initially wanting to keep the project completely separate from Dream Theater). The combo was formed as a side project to Dream Theater in 1997. Some theorise that Rudess was asked to join Dream Theater largely because of the success of Liquid Tension Experiment. He had already declined a previous offer to join in 1994 and instead became a member of the Dixie Dregs, known for complex, "Southern fusion" instrumental music.

LTE released two albums, Liquid Tension Experiment (1998) & Liquid Tension Experiment 2 (1999) on Magna Carta Records.

On October 4, 2007, it was announced that LTE would headline NEARfest 2008 in June. On March 29 2008, six Liquid Tension Experiment tour dates in June 2008 were announced to celebrate the bands 10 year anniversary as well to create a "whole new musical experiences"

Be sure to get this if you're into some real Hot progressive Rock/Metal music!!


Liquid Tension Experiment
With a side of Grey Goose & Calamari
B. B. King Blues Club & Grill in NYC

Recorded by: Smokescreen

Recorded from Stage Right sitting at the tables away from the center floor.


Mike Portnoy - drums and percussion
John Petrucci - guitars
Jordan Rudess - keyboards
Tony Levin - Chapman Stick and Bass guitar

Track List:

Disc 01:

01 - Acid Rain - 9:51
02 - Kindred Spirits - 7:54
03 - Biaxident - 7:43
04 - Freedom of Speech - 9:01
05 - Improv Jam #1 - 8:10
06 - Another Dimension - 10:21

Playing time: 00:53:00

Disc 02:

01 - State of Grace - 6:15
02 - Universal Mind - 9:51
03 - When The Water Breaks - 16:56
04 - Improv Jam #2 - 11:39
05 - Rhapsody in Blue - 13:35
06 - Encore - Osmosis - Paradigm Shift - 12:28

Playing time: 01:10:43

Format: FLAC

Enjoy !!!



See comments for the links


Dr. Fusion said...

Links coming soon...

Dr. Fusion said...










PH said...

I already have this one (posted on my blog too), but I want to thank you for sharing it anyway, because that's really a killer band, and this recording is excellent. I'm sure a lot of people here will enjoy it!